4 Types of Florida Alimony

The Durational Limits of General Term Alimony - The Law Offices of Scott C.  Marks

Alimony is a transfer of money ordered by the court. Its purpose is to provide support for a spouse with lower earnings during a period of separation or divorce. There are four different types of alimony that may be awarded in the state of Florida.

1. Durational Alimony

Durational Alimony Tampa is one of the more recently established types of alimony. This type of alimony awards economic assistance to a former spouse for a specific period of time. However, that time period may not be longer than the length of the dissolved marriage. The amount of the assistance can be modified if circumstances change, but the length of time that payments must be made can not.

2. Bridge-the-Gap Alimony

This type of alimony is intended to help a former spouse transition from being married to being single. Florida statute specifies that it should cover identifiable short-term needs, such as furniture and other costs to set up a new home. This type of alimony can not be awarded for more than two years and can not be modified.

3. Permanent Alimony

If a former spouse is considered unable to care for themselves, permanent alimony may be awarded. An example of this situation is spouses who have permanent disabilities that make them unable to perform any work.

4. Rehabilitative Alimony

This type of alimony is intended to help the former spouse transition to self-sufficiency. To qualify, the former spouse must give the court a specific and defined rehabilitative plan. These plans usually include acquiring the skills or credentials necessary to obtain employment. These awards can be changed if circumstances change, the rehabilitation plan is completed or there is non-compliance with the plan.

A former spouse who earns substantially less than the other party in a dissolved marriage may be entitled to one or more types of alimony. The court determines which type of alimony applies based on the facts of the case.